Midday Rant: Anticipation

3 Jun

Okay, so I’m taking a few minutes out of my day because I want to briefly discuss my anticipation for the following:

Yes, you saw it right, The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella hits shelves at 12:01am on June 5th. So basically tomorrow night I’ll be fangirling at a local Border’s until I can get my hands on a copy. I’ve actually never anticipated the release of a book before because most of the books I’ve read either came out shortly before I came across them or they came out more than a century ago or I wasn’t into reading at the time so I could have cared less.

But this time it’s different.

I would be 800,000 times more stoked if it were another Harry Potter book, such as an 8th book to continue the story or the same for Twilight, but this book is about one character and everything relative to a part of the Eclipse story from her perspective, which is what amplifies the level of anticipation. Maybe it’s a short story but I’m still stoked nonetheless. The only downfall is that we know she dies in the end, but this knowledge makes me wonder why other people are so amped to read it as well?

I’m primarily interested in reading this book for two reasons. The first being that I’m curious to see how well Stephenie Meyer’s writing has improved. Anyone who has read these books can certify that her writing abilities make leaps and bounds from her first book to her fourth. Although, out of fairness, I haven’t read The Host yet so I don’t know what to fully expect either.

The second is because we only see what happens in Eclipse from Bella’s perspective and there is a lot going on out there in the world, so to speak, that she is completely unaware of so reading this book will certainly give the readers the opportunity to see that. And this is where movies and books can sometimes differ. But I’ll go into that later on.

Does anyone plan on reading this book?

4 Responses to “Midday Rant: Anticipation”

  1. Gabrielle June 3, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    I definitely plan on reading it. I also am obsessed with everything Twilight! I enjoy reading your blog Lauren, we seem to have quite a bit in common. Hope all is well since I last saw you at Cabrini, in public speaking!

    • Lauren Dickson June 4, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      Awww thank you Gab so much! Yeah, we always have had a lot in common it seems! I wish you lived closer so we could hang out! I’m glad to know someone reads this thing, lol. How have you been?

      • perfectinmyimperfections June 4, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

        I’ve been ok, just working full time as a manager at the same restaurant, and in grad school for masters of ed… where are you living these days, we should meet up sometime

  2. Ben Archer June 14, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    I plan on starting it this week!

Leave a Reply

