Bedtime Rant: Movies

12 Mar

Over the last several years I’ve spent a great deal of time watching a lot of movies and finding more on IMDb, which maybe that time could have been spent more wisely but oh well, so I figured I’d share a few of the latest movies I’ve watched with you.

First up is The Young Victoria, starring Emily Blunt and Rupert Friend, which tells the story about the turbulent first years of Queen Victoria’s rule, and her enduring romance with Prince Albert. Loved this movie for not only the story line but it’s historical aspect as well. Plus, how can a girl not fall madly in love with Rupert Friend?! He was so dreamy in Pride & Prejudice as Mr. Wickham. And of course, Emily Blunt did an outstanding job in her role.

Next up is Crash starring Sandra Bullock, Brendan Fraiser, Thandie Newton, Don Cheadle, Ludacris, and a slew of other A-listers, which is a story intertwining the characters lives and the role that racism plays in today’s society. The movie itself was good, I thought the storyline flowed a little slow, but I get the whole let’s show you all the chapters in the book even though it doesn’t make any fuckin’ sense until we rap it up at the end type deal. What I didn’t like was the reminder of how lame people are and by lame I mean completely and utterly pathetic. I refuse to watch the news if I can help it just because I’m already well aware of how shitty the world is and how crappy people are towards each other for fucked up reasons. Needless to say I didn’t sleep very well after seeing this flick.

Erin Brockovich is next on my list, starring Julia Roberts as the title role, which is based off of a true story about an unemployed single mother  who becomes a legal assistant and almost single-handedly brings down a California power company accused of polluting a city’s water supply. According to the real Erin Brockovich’s website the movie is “98% accurate and that they took very few creative licenses.” I loved this movie because Julia Roberts is a fantastic actress and of course I love these true story and made into a movie movies. They are so inspiring, especially when it’s a woman who is standing up for what she believes in.

Featured last, but not least, on my list is the Bourne Trilogy, starring the beautiful Matt Damon, which is the story of Jason Bourne, a psychogenic amnesiac former Special Activities Division operative attempting to discover his true identity amidst a clandestine conspiracy within the Central Intelligence Agency. Okay, I’ll admit that I had ZERO interest in these movies before Ben made the point that “you always pick the movies” and of course he was right, but only because I’m home all day to be snooping around the internet for our evening movies, and I’ve got to be fair sometimes, haha. Anyway, I loved this series! I kept freaking about the red bank bag and asking all these practical questions while we watched each movie. And of course I just adore Julia Stiles!

Other movies that I’ve seen (and loved) lately include:

  • The Time Travler’s Wife (2009)
  • Mansfield Park (1999)
  • Mansfield Park (2007)
  • Emma (1996) TV Version
  • Northanger Abby (2007)
  • Precious (2009)

Okay, okay, I’m tired too! 😀

Leave a Reply

