My Christmas List: Want VS. Need

12 Dec

Being that the holiday season is in full effect these days I figured that it’s time to post some kind Christmas list or Dear Santa letter. But in doing so I must first deliberate the difference between my want Christmas list and my need Christmas list.

In my mind, the things that I want are always the things that I need and vice versa. But there’s got to be some kind of way to decipher which items are which. And then there’s also a personal factor involved: I like buying/receiving things that are practical, that serve a solid purpose in my life.

I want new flatware, fireplace tools, two lounge chairs and/or a love seat, a coffee table, throw rug, waffle maker, a Harry Potter wand, all kinds of Twilight memorabilia (that I’ve listed on Facebook), a specific copy of Jane Eyre from Borders, more ink for my fountain pen,  a Moleskine daily planner, new undiebunnies (underwear), more artwork for my walls, curtains for my bedroom, kitchen, and sliding glass door, new bed sheets and/or duvet cover, a rug for my dining room.

Now, I know that list seems a bit extensive and I won’t argue with anyone who agrees. However, some of things are essentials for everyday living. Correction: for my everyday living. But this is where I need to separate the want and the need with the element of practicality involved.

Let’s start with the flatware. I currently have service for four, which is more than enough for just myself and Ben (when he’s here). But my fairly decent set has gotten beaten up and I’d like to replace it with service for eight or twelve now that my apartment is finally taking shape and is more suitable for entertaining guests. Do I need the flatware? No. Do I want it? Yes. Can I live without new flatware? Yes. Will they serve a solid purpose in the future? Yes.

Moving onto the fireplace tools. I currently do not own any so I’ve been praying to the high heavens that nothing falls out of control or causes any kind of damaging ruckus. If I were to own a set I could very well clean the fireplace after each use, however, I’m currently unable to really clean it properly. Do I need a fireplace tools? Yes. Do I want them? Yes. Can I live without them? Yes, but only if I’m looking to become a chimney sweep in the near future. Will they serve a solid purpose in the future? Yes, and they will serve a solid purpose during the present as well.

In the next few days I will be ridding my apartment of the hideous olive green couch that was given to me by a friend of a friend. Once this green monster is out of here, my shiny new black couch will take its place, thus leaving the current position of the black couch empty. Seeing the current position of the new couch gave me a good idea as to what size furniture will fit in it’s place. I’m still unsure if I’d like two lounge chairs (i.e. Ikea Stockholm chair or something similar) or a loveseat — either way, both would look great and fill the space accordingly.

Miree says that I should go with two chairs instead of a loveseat because they will change up the pace of that side of the room and keep the openness at a balanced level. She watches a lot of HGTV so I trust her judgment, haha. I’m flexible with either option and I’ve been keeping my eyes peeled on Craigslist to see what comes up each day. Do I want the additional seating? Yes. Do I need it? No. Can I live without it? Yes. Will it serve a purpose in the future? Yes, absolutely.

I could go on and on with my list in similar fashion, but what it comes down to is that some of those things that I want are things that I actually need, whereas other things I do not need. Some of the things on my list are things that will make me happy, brighten up my living space, and will definitely serve a purpose now and in the future. Therefore making a decision between wanting and needing a little difficult as you can see.

What do you want for Christmas this year?

One Response to “My Christmas List: Want VS. Need”

  1. benarcher December 12, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

    If I could I’d give you all of these things my love…in time….RICH

Leave a Reply

