Expensive sofa at a Goodwill price.

10 Dec

During yesterday’s search for firewood, gas, cigarettes, etc., I came across a really nice sofa at the local Goodwill. A very noticeably trendy couch at that. Immediately I recognized the piece of furniture and then I looked at the price tag I almost fell over — $129.99!!! I pulled out my cell phone to take a picture because there was no way I was letting a couch like this, at a price like that, leave through those double doors in someone else’s possession. No way, no how.

When I spoke with my Mom this morning, I nonchalantly mentioned the bargain priced couch and she seemed really interested. Long story short — she bought it for me as a Christmas present! I’m still at a loss for words (although it doesn’t seem like) that it’s even mine!

I do, however, still have my previous couch sitting in my living room, which is up for sale on Craigslist, so it’s kinda annoying me that it’s there but in due time it will have found a new home elsewhere. If no one offers me anything in the next few days I might just donate it to Goodwill – a couch for a couch, muahaha.

The best part is that when I went into the store to buy it, I brought a donation with me to drop off and they gave me a 20% off coupon, which I tend used on the new sofa thus lowering the price down to $104. The couch sells for $699 at Ikea, talk about a win-win situation.

Thanks Mom!

3 Responses to “Expensive sofa at a Goodwill price.”

  1. benarcher December 10, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    That’s a helluva deal! Now if you can only keep Peaches from eviscerating it.

  2. Britty Stardust December 11, 2009 at 12:20 am #

    I want to see a picture of it!! Post post!

  3. Britty Stardust December 11, 2009 at 12:21 am #

    Oh wait there is a picture! HA! I read the entry through my email and it didn’t post the picture! DOH! <3<3 I love the couch. It's gorgeous! There's this amazing reddish couch that I want, but I need a place for it first!

Leave a Reply

